The Windmill has been a distinctive landmark since it was built in 1817 to serve the local community. However it only operated until 1864, when the machinery was removed and it was converted to residential accommodation. Today the sails have been restored to working order and the building houses a fascinating museum of windmills, with exhibits on rural life and local history. Next door to the Windmill Museum are the Windmill Tearooms offering a range of appetising homemade food, hot and cold drinks, and ice-cream. The large patio area outside makes it a popular choice with families and dog-walkers.